Please enable Javascript to experience full features
German Flag
Telephone Bookings +353 (0)64 66 31035 E-mail info@lakehotel.com
Special Offers Hotels Killarney Dinner and B&B Specials Hotels Killarney Gift Vouchers for the Lake Hotel Killarney

Check In Date
Number of Nights

History of The Lake Hotel, Killarney


History of The Lake Hotel, Killarney

History of the Lake Hotel Killarney

The Lake Hotel, built in 1820, still exhibits the original elegant lounges, with log fires. In 1861 the Lake Hotel is said to have hosted Queen Victoria of England during her stay in Ireland. In recent times the hotel was owned by the families, Cotter to Coffey then Morrough, Bernard and Courtney. In 1897 it was purchased by Mr. Hilliard of Killarney and in 1940 it was purchased by Martin and Mary Huggard of Waterville and Became one of their Families 7 Hotels. The Hotels were Ashford Castle, Ballinahinch Castle, The Lake Hotel, The Royal in Valentia, Caragh Lake Hotel, The Bay View & The Butler Arms in Waterville.

 

 Hilda at the Lake Hotel had learned the hotel trade from the best, her mother Mary, who was also a Director with Bord Failte (Irish Tourist Board). Known the four corners of the Globe for her hospitality, service and friendly welcome, Hilda passed on the Huggard traditions and renowned hospitality to her nephews, Tony, Coleman, Niall and Joe who are actively involved in the Hotel to the present day and to many nephews, nieces, grand nephews and grand nieces who are also carrying the Huggard tradition in tourism in Ireland today. The Hotel has recently been refurbished and has kept its old world charm.

 

      

Featured images


Click here to view more images from this gallery »